Minutes Presidential Search Committee Meeting March 5, 2020

Welcome and Roll Call

Beverly Seay, Chair of the Presidential Search Committee, called the meeting to order at 7:30 a.m. in the Student Union, Key West Ballroom on the University of Central Florida's Main Campus.

Seay reminded the committee that the meeting was covered by the Florida Sunshine Law and that the public and press were invited to attend.

Seay called on Karen Monteleone to call roll and a quorum was established.

Minutes

Seay called for approval of the March 3, 2020 meeting minutes, which were approved.

Discussion of interview process

Alberto Pimentel, Managing Partner of Storbeck/Pimentel & Associates, provided an outline of the interview process that would be used.

Candidate Interviews

The following seven candidates were interviewed by committee:

- Barbara Boyan, Alice T. and William H. Goodwin Jr. Dean of College of Engineering and Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering, Virginia Commonwealth University; and member, National Academy of Engineering
- David Brenner, Vice Chancellor, Health Sciences, and Distinguished Professor, Department of Medicine, University of California San Diego; Adjunct Professor, Salk Institute for Biological Studies; and member, National Academy of Medicine
- Amr Elnashai, Vice President/Vice Chancellor for Research and Technology Transfer, University of Houston
- Vistasp Karbhari, President, University of Texas at Arlington
- Richard Larson, Executive Vice Chancellor and Vice Chancellor for Research, University of New Mexico Health Sciences Center
- Javier Reyes, Vice President for StartUp West Virginia; Milan Puskar Dean of the John Chambers College of Business and Economics, West Virginia University
- Cato Laurencin, University Professor; Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Professor of Materials Science and Engineering; Professor of Biomedical Engineering; Albert and Wilda Van Dusen Distinguished Endowed Professor of Orthopedic Surgery; Chief Executive Officer, The Connecticut Convergence Institute for Translation in Regenerative Engineering, University of Connecticut; Director, The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Center for Biomedical, Biological, Physical and Engineering Sciences; member National Academy of Medicine and National Academy of Engineering

Deliberations and recommendations of finalists

After committee discussion and deliberation, Chair Seay asked for a motion to advance three candidates to the Board of Trustees. Barbara Jenkins made the motion, with David Odahowski providing the second. The motion passed unanimously.

The three candidates advanced to the Board of Trustees were:

- Cato Laurencin
- David Brenner
- Vistasp Karbhari

Closing Remarks

Seay adjourned the meeting at 5:52 p.m.