UCF football is one of eight programs in the country which is guaranteed to have a former player receive a Super Bowl ring this season. The Knights have at least one member on all four remaining teams in the NFL playoffs, joining an exclusive list also consisting of Florida, Miami (Fla), Mississippi, Mississippi State, Oregon, Tennessee and Texas.

Overall, UCF has five players on rosters for Atlanta, Baltimore, New England or San Francisco. That includes Adam Nissley and Jah Reid who are on injured reserve.

UCF Players in the NFL Postseason

  • WR Kamar Aiken – New England Patriots
  • FB Bruce Miller – San Francisco 49ers
  • TE Adam Nissley – Atlanta Falcons (injured reserve)
  • OL Jah Reid – Baltimore Ravens (injured reserve)
  • CB Asante Samuel – Atlanta Falcons
  • Based on rosters on each teams’ websites on Jan. 14 (including active, injured reserve, practice squad, etc.), UCF ranks in a tie for 10th in the nation with the most players in the AFC or NFC Championship Game.

    Teams with the Most Players in the AFC/NFC Championship Games (including inj. reserved, etc. – as of Jan. 14)

  • 1. Miami (Fla.) – 12
  • T2. Oregon – 7
  • T2. Florida – 7
  • T4. Alabama – 6
  • T4. Ohio State – 6
  • T4. Iowa – 6
  • T4. South Carolina – 6
  • T4. Syracuse – 6
  • T4. Texas – 6
  • T10. UCF – 5
  • Also with 5: Illinois, Missouri, Rutgers, Tennessee, Virginia

    Samuel will be making his sixth appearance in conference championship contests, as he made four with New England and one with Philadelphia. Last year, Reid and Miller made their first appearances in the conference title games in what were their rookie seasons in the NFL. Overall, this is the 10th time in the last 12 seasons in which UCF has had at least one player in either the AFC or NFC Championship Games.

    Prior to the 2012-13 campaign, eight different Knights have earned Super Bowl titles highlighted by Samuel who boasts two with New England. Michael Gruttadauria (St. Louis), Darcy Johnson (New York Giants), Cornell Green (Tampa Bay), Charles Lee (Tampa Bay), Atari Bigby (Green Bay), Michael Greco (Green Bay) and Josh Sitton (Green Bay) also have experienced a Super Bowl victory.

    NFL Playoffs Schedule

    NFC Championship

  • Jan. 20 – 3 p.m. – San Francisco 49ers (Bruce Miller) at Atlanta Falcons (Asante Samuel, Adam Nissley)
  • AFC Championship

  • Jan. 20 – 6:30 p.m. – Baltimore Ravens (Jah Reid) at New England Patriots (Kamar Aiken)
  • Super Bowl

  • Feb. 3 – 6:30 p.m.