The Citadel Athletic Hall of Fame will now consist of 161 individuals, and was originated in 1977.

A native of Albany, N.Y., Taaffe led The Citadel as its head coach from 1987-96 and finished with a 55-47-1 record, which ranks as the most victories by a head coach in the school’s history. A two-time Southern Conference Coach of the Year in 1988 and 1992, Taaffe captured the 1992 SoCon Championship and amassed an 11-2 record to tie for No. 1 in the final D-IAA national poll.

Taaffe received 1992 I-AA National Coach of the Year honors by The Sports Network and the American Football Coaches Association, while earning the Eddie Robinson Award as the I-AA National Coach of the Year. Among the programs The Citadel defeated during his tenure were Army (twice), Navy (twice), Arkansas and South Carolina.

Entering his third season with UCF, Taaffe, who also monitors the quarterbacks, led the Knights to a very productive 2010. The offense boosted its scoring average from 26.2 in 2009 to 32.1 en route to a Conference USA title and an AutoZone Liberty Bowl victory over Georgia. UCF’s balanced attack finished the year with 187.6 rushing yards per game and 186.4 passing yards per game, and scored at least 30 points in eight contests.

Taaffe molded true freshman quarterback Jeff Godfrey into the C-USA Freshman of the Year in 2010. The Miami native started the final 12 games and led all FBS freshmen with a 66.8 completion percentage and set a UCF quarterback record with 566 rushing yards. He also had a 154.31 efficiency rating with 13 touchdowns in the air and 10 touchdowns on the ground.

Taaffe made his way to Orlando after serving as head coach of the Canadian Football League’s Hamilton Tiger-Cats from 2007-08. He also was in charge of the Montreal Alouettes from 1997-00, and began his coaching career mentoring the running backs at Albany in 1973.