UCF’s 2018-19 promotion and tenure process concluded last week with 107 faculty promoted, 29 of whom will be recommended for tenure at the May 16 Board of Trustees meeting. Approved tenures and promotions will be effective Aug. 8.

Twenty-five of the faculty members are new professors, based on superior achievement on the national and international levels, personal contributions at the university, and their reputation as a leading scholar and researcher.

“A strong faculty is the heart of our academic enterprise, and a robust promotion and tenure process is vital for the continued advancement of faculty excellence and professional growth at UCF,” said Elizabeth A. Dooley, provost and vice president for Academic Affairs. “Congratulations to these faculty members for their accomplishment, which is a significant milestone in their careers.”

Tenure-earning faculty typically apply for tenure and promotion to the associate professor rank in their sixth year of service. Faculty must demonstrate their excellent research, teaching and service. Their work is voted on by reviewers at multiple levels, before making it to the provost for approval.

Associate Professor

Raheleh Ahangari, Biomedical Sciences

Rodrigo Amezcua Correa, Optics and Photonics

Thaddeus Anderson, Music

Shazia Beg, Internal Medicine

Scott Branting, Anthropology

Latarsha Chisholm, Health Management and Informatics

Robert Dvorak, Psychology

Varadraj Gurupur, Health Management and Informatics

Erin Hanson, National Center for Forensic Science (research)

Timothy Hawthorne, Sociology

Dana Joseph, Management

Juhee Kang, Hospitality Services

Murat  Kizildag, Hospitality Services

Woo Hyoung Lee, Civil, Environmental and Construction Engineering

Yingru Li, Sociology

Matthew Matusiak, Criminal Justice

Cynthia Mejia, Foodservice and Lodging Management

William Moreto, Criminal Justice

Elsie Olan, School of Teacher Education

Daniel Paulson, Psychology

Susan Quelly, Nursing Systems

Michele Regalla, School of Teacher Education

Matthew Stock, School of Kinesiology and Physical Therapy

Dalena Taylor, Counselor Education and School Psychology

Laurene Tetard, Physics

Daniel Topping, Medical Education

Fernando Uribe Romo, Chemistry



Kent Butler, Counselor Education and School Psychology

Maria Cannarozzi, Internal Medicine

Wingyan Chung, School of Modeling, Simulation and Training

Kenneth Fedorka, Biology

Yan Fernandez, Physics

Denise Gammonley, School of Social Work

Nora Garcia, Music

Andre Gesquiere, Chemistry

Ali Gordon, Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

William Hagedorn, Counselor Education and School Psychology

Richard Hartshorne, Learning Science and Education Research

Eric Hoffman, Biology

Michelle Kelley, School of Teacher Education

Khim Kelly, Accounting

Stephen Kuebler, Chemistry

Ann Miller, Nicholson School of Communication and Media

Matthew Nobles, Criminal Justice

Fernando Rivera, Sociology

Lee Ross, Criminal Justice

Mohtashem Samsam, Biomedical Sciences

Hubert Scott, Theatre

Zixia Song, Mathematics

Gergana Vitanova-Haralampiev, Modern Languages and Literatures

Kimberly Voss, Nicholson School of Communication and Media

Ross Wolf, Criminal Justice


Associate Instructor

Sarah Angell, Computer Science

Tarek Buhagiar, Economics

Vanessa Calkins, Writing and Rhetoric

Michelle Dusseau, Nicholson School of Communication and Media

Carlos Gual, School of Kinesiology and Physical Therapy

Nancy Harrington, School of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Courtney Jorgensen, English Language Institute

Debra Knox, School of Communication Sciences and Disorders

Donald Porchia, Mathematics

Gideon Shbeeb, Nicholson School of Communication and Media

Lance Speere, Nicholson School of Communication and Media

Kathleen Suchora, Statistics

Katherine Wilson, Foodservice and Lodging Management


Associate Lecturer

Cynthia Bayer, Biology

Christian Beck, English

Dean Cleavenger, Management

Marc Consalo, Legal Studies

Jason Fridrich, Foodservice and Lodging Management

Kourtney Nieves, Health Management and Informatics

Hyung Park, Sociology

Marisol Parra-Tatge, Psychology

Jessica Waesche, Psychology

Lana Williams, Anthropology


Senior Instructor

Nancy Brasel, School of Teacher Education

Lauren De George, Management

Lori Dunlop-Pyle, Mathematics

Dina Fabery, Modern Languages and Literatures

Patricia Farless, History

Paul Gregg, Finance

Arup Guha, Computer Science

Shari Hodgson, Nicholson School of Communication and Media

Alice Korosy, Modern Languages and Literatures

Frank Logiudice, Biology

Anne Prucha, Modern Languages and Literatures

Maria Redmon, Modern Languages and Literatures

Peter Telep, English

Deborah Weaver, Writing and Rhetoric


Senior Lecturer

Patricia Angley, English

James Clark, History

Thomas Fisher, School of Kinesiology and Physical Therapy

Vance Geiger, Anthropology

Kathleen Hohenleitner, English

Karen Mottarella, Psychology

Rani Vajravelu, Biology


Associate University Librarian

Tina Buck, UCF Libraries

Michael Furlong, UCF Libraries

Sarah Norris, UCF Libraries

Andrew Todd, UCF Libraries

Min Tong, UCF Libraries


University Librarian

Ying Zhang, UCF Libraries


Associate Instructional Designer

Corrinne Stull, Center for Distributed Learning


Senior Instructional Designer

Kathleen Bastedo, Center for Distributed Learning

Sue Bauer, Center for Distributed Learning

Aimee deNoyelles, Center for Distributed Learning

Denise Lowe, Center for Distributed Learning