Tribble is the lone honoree this year in the Distinguished Letterwinner category, which is defined as those who have made major contributions to the University’s athletic program through personal time, effort, interest and many years of continued service. They may have also distinguished themselves as exceptional in their chosen field of endeavor.

The 2011 UF Athletics Hall of Fame class, as announced by University of Florida F Club and Gator Boosters, Inc., will also feature six Gator Greats, and an Honorary Letterwinner. The 2011 UF Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will be held on Friday, April 8, 2011, in the Holloway Touchdown Terrace at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. This complete induction class includes Gator Greats Dawn Buth (Women’s Tennis), Judd Davis (Football), Bob Emrick (Men’s Basketball), Michelle Freeman (Women’s Track & Field), Mimosa McNerney (Women’s Swimming) and Mike Peterson (Football). Keith Tribble (Football) will be inducted as a Distinguished Letterwinner and the late Dr. Richard Shaara (UF Team Physician) will be a 2011 Honorary Letterwinner.

Tribble was an offensive guard for three bowl teams during his time at Florida, from 1974-76. His first foray into collegiate athletics came at his alma mater, where he served from 1981-89, working his way up to the position of associate athletic director. Tribble later returned to his hometown of Miami in 1993 to take over the Orange Bowl Committee and its flagship event, the then-FedEx Orange Bowl. For 13 years, Tribble led the Orange Bowl in unparalleled success, ultimately landing the prestigious game in the rotation of today’s Bowl Championship Series. Since his tenure began as UCF’s Director of Athletics in 2006, the program has continued to thrive both academically and athletically.