The first members of the Zeta Chapter of the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society at the UCF College of Medicine were officially inducted into the organization on May 13. Eleven students were chosen after a competitive application process, and met the rigorous standards to be offered admission into the National Honor Society for medical students.

“This inaugural AOA chapter will take on the character of its members, and we really look to you to make the Zeta Chapter great,” said Dr. Maria Cannarozzi, associate professor of internal medicine and pediatrics, who will serve as president of the Zeta chapter and was instrumental in bringing the organization to UCF.  “I challenge each of you to develop and display the qualities that have earned you this honor today.”

Those qualities include professionalism, scholarship, leadership and service. Six of the new AOA inductees are members of College of Medicine’s charter class, and will be graduating May 17, so they will be representing the Zeta Chapter as they begin their medical careers.

Dr. Deborah German, vice president for medical affairs and dean of the College of Medicine, congratulated the students with a quote from legendary football coach Vince Lombardi:  “Perfection is not attainable, but if we chase perfection, we catch excellence.” Dr. German added, “I suspect that everyone in this room has been chasing perfection, and they’ve caught excellence.”

2013 Alpha Omega Alpha Inductees:

Class of 2013

  • Sarina Amin
  • Steven Bright
  • Tiffany Chen
  • Ashley Curry
  • Anika Mirick
  • Mitchell Popovetsky
  • Class of 2014

  • Jennifer Bazemore
  • Susan Chitwood
  • Casey DeDeugd
  • Avianne Mills Bunnel
  • Christopher Reilly