UCF optics researcher Shin-Tson Wu, whose work has significantly advanced  the liquid crystal displays we use every day on our smartphones, computer monitors and television screens, is among six inventors named today as the first inductees of the Florida Inventors Hall of Fame.

Wu is one of UCF’s most highly awarded researchers and was recognized in 2012 by the National Academy of Inventors as a charter fellow. He has been awarded 80 patents for technologies that continue to improve clarity on the devices the world has grown to depend on for communication and entertainment.

“I am honored to receive this recognition and I appreciate UCF, my students, and my family members for working with me to achieve these accomplishments,” Wu said.

Wu is joined in the inaugural class by a team of innovation heavyweights including Thomas Edison, Gatorade inventor Robert Cade, and John Gorrie, the air conditioning pioneer whose statue represents Florida in the U.S. Capitol. Edison, who died in 1931, is the most prolific inventor in U.S. history with 1,093 patents. His inventions range from electric lighting and power systems, batteries, recorded sound, and film. His home and laboratory were in Fort Myers.

Also announced as part of the Florida Inventors Hall of Fame were the inventor of the high-definition camera for NASA, William Glenn; and Shyam Mohapatra, whose nano-HIV detection kit provides a diagnosis in just 20 seconds. The hall will hold an induction ceremony Sept. 10.

“We are thrilled to be announcing this charter class of outstanding inventors whose work has had such an impact on the lives of Floridians and the world,” said Paul R. Sanberg, chair of the Florida Inventors Hall of Fame advisory board and senior vice president for research and innovation at the University of South Florida, where the hall is located.

“Our hope is that the Florida Inventors Hall of Fame will encourage individuals of all ages and backgrounds to strive toward the betterment of Florida and society through continuous, groundbreaking innovation,” said Sanberg.

The new Florida Inventors Hall of Fame, was recognized in April with a resolution passed by the Florida Senate to honor outstanding Florida inventors. The resolution, adopted at the request of state Sen. Jeff Brandes, recognized the hall “for its commitment to honoring inventors and celebrating innovation, discovery, and excellence.”

Inventors, who must have at least one U.S. patent, were identified through an open nomination process and elected by a selection committee comprised of leaders in research and innovation throughout Florida.

“Florida has become a national leader in research and innovation, and each of these inventors is an outstanding example of the creative thinking that has distinguished Florida both in the past and today,” said Randy Berridge, president of the Florida High Tech Corridor Council and Hall of Fame advisory board member.

“Every new generation of scientists and inventors generates discoveries, economic growth and opportunity, not only for Floridians but for our nation and the world,” said Berridge.

For more information on the 2014 inductees, the Florida Inventors Hall of Fame and the 2014 Induction Ceremony and Gala on Sep. 10, visit https://www.floridainvents.org/ or contact info@FloridaInvents.org.