The National Academic Advising Association (NACADA), which promotes and supports quality academic advising in institutions of higher education, held its 34th annual conference on academic advising in Orlando from October 3-6. NACADA, which provides a forum for discussion, debate and the exchange of ideas pertaining to academic advising through numerous mediums, also serves as an advocate for effective academic advising by providing a consulting and speaker service, a program, and funding for research related to academic advising.

The Annual Awards Program honors the people, programs, institutions, and technology innovations making significant contributions to the field of academic advising. A special reception was held for award recipients and their invited guests. UCF was well represented amongst the 2010 award winners, posting six recipients of NACADA awards:

  • Outstanding Advising Certificate of Merit Recipients:  Delia Garcia, College of Arts & Humanities (CAH);
  • Outstanding New Advisor: Jessica Simmons, Interdisciplinary Studies;
  • Outstanding Institutional Advising Program: Wayne Jackson, SOAR program in the Office of Multicultural Academic Support Services (MASS), SDES;
  • Wesley R. Habley NACADA Summer Institute Scholarships: Claudia Turner, CAH;
  • Advising Technology Innovation Certificate of Merit: Randall Brumfield, College of Business Administration;
  • Retirees from the Academic Advising Profession: Judith Sindlinger, formerly in the College of Health and Public Affairs.
  • The four-day conference provided opportunities for formal and informal networking, professional development opportunities for advisors through workshops, panel sessions, and presentations, offered in a range of theoretical, practical, and interactive formats.

    Over 20 representatives of UCF collaborated and presented on a broad range of topics relating to advising, academic support, retention, first generation college students, Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) disciplines, mentoring and more.

    The 2010 Annual Conference Committee also was well represented by UCF, as Abby Riggenbach, SDES, chaired the Volunteer Committee, while the Hospitality Committee was chaired by Joshua Johnson, Rosen College of Hospitality Management.