The UCF Police Department on Monday celebrated officers and community partners who went above and beyond the call of duty.

At a semi-annual awards ceremony, Chief Richard Beary and Deputy Chiefs Carl Metzer and Brett Meade presented awards to honorees who contributed to making UCF a safer place.

Officer First Class Frank Imparato was awarded the Lifesaving Award for his quick actions in helping an unresponsive motorcyclist. Ofc. Imparato performed life-saving actions until paramedics arrived. The members of Delta Squad received a Unit Citation for their efforts to save and support a suicidal student.

Other officers who received commendations included:

  • Scott Freeman
  • Erik Lashinsky
  • Pablo Vargas
  • Melissa Guadagnino
  • Jeffrey Panter
  • Matthew Scott
  • Christopher Holt
  • Danielle Hughes
  • Julie Wilk
  • Community Service Officer Daniel Hooker
  • In addition, several community members were also recognized for the support of the UCF Police Department and its efforts to protect the campus. Awardees included:

  • Rich Steiner for his assistance with police radios during UCF game days
  • Veronica and Tony Figueroa for sponsoring our new soft interview room
  • Maribel Lopez for designing our new soft interview room
  • Jayling Liriano for assisting a suicidal student
  • Glenda Brown for assisting a suicidal student
  • Liz Stevenson for assisting a suicidal student
  • Rita-Mary Demerjian for assisting a suicidal student
  • The following officers were recognized for receiving a promotion to the rank of Officer First Class: Ofc. Chase Crane; Ofc. Melissa Guadagnino; Ofc. Christopher Holt; Ofc. Danielle Hughes; Ofc. Frank Imparato; Ofc. Gregory Larkin; Ofc. Ben Lewis; Ofc. Jeffrey Panter; Ofc. Rhett Proctor; Ofc. Jean Quiles; Ofc. Luis Rivera; Ofc. Matthew Scott; Ofc. Ryan Stoner; Ofc. James Strawn; Ofc. Maurice Thompson; Ofc. Eric Walton; Ofc. Mica-Marya Wenner; and Ofc. Joel Witherspoon.