Thirty-one women at the University of Central Florida will be honored in March – Women’s History Month – by the Center for Success of Women Faculty for their contributions in shaping an inclusive culture at UCF. Plus, for the first time, the center will honor 12 men who also have enhanced UCF’s inclusivity.

This year’s women honorees have presented research on a national and international level, have acted as role models and mentors for students, colleagues and community partners, have led UCF’s Pride Faculty and Staff Association and have been active in other organizations in addition to their teaching, service and administrative roles. They are:

  • Elizabeth Klonoff, professor and vice president for research, and dean of graduate studies
  • Lori Walters, Institute for Simulation and Training research assistant professor
  • Stacy Van Horn, College of Education & Human Performance associate lecturer
  • Amy Hesse, Creative School for Children director
  • Carrie Moran, UCF Libraries user-engagement librarian
  • Staci Zavattaro, public administration associate professor
  • Angela Rounsaville, writing and rhetoric associate professor
  • Julia Listengarten, theatre professor
  • Evelyn Lynn, retired College of Education & Human Performance lecturer
  • Lisa Massi, College of Engineering & Computer Science academic affairs director of operations analysis
  • Caridad Hernandez, associate professor of medicine
  • Jeanette Schreiber, associate vice president for medical affairs and chief legal officer
  • J. Marla Toyne, anthropology assistant professor
  • Deborah Weaver, writing and rhetoric associate instructor
  • Susan Chase, nursing associate dean for graduate affairs and graduate department chair
  • Cyndia Muniz, Multicultural Academic and Support Services assistant director
  • Stephanie Vie, writing and rhetoric interim chair
  • Ayanna Lopez, Graduate Student Services assistant director
  • Kristina Childs, criminal justice assistant professor
  • Pam Thomas, biology instructor
  • Vicki Loerzel, nursing associate professor
  • Belinda Boyd, theatre associate professor
  • Denise Gammonley, School of Social Work associate professor
  • Wendy Howard, Center for Distributed Learning associate instructional designer
  • Leandra Preston-Sidler, Women’s and Gender Studies associate lecturer
  • Judit Szente, College of Education & Human Performance associate professor
  • Adrienne Dove, physics assistant professor
  • Diane Andrews, nursing associate professor
  • Maureen Ambrose, College of Business professor
  • Martine Vanryckeghem, Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders professor
  • Rani Vajravelu, biology associate lecturer
  • Check out the Center for Success of Women Faculty’s website for profiles on each of the honorees. One profile is being posted each day this month.

    The 12 men are being honored for making a difference at UCF in ways that range from leading a charge to add expectant-mother parking on campus, add nursing-mothers’ rooms in their colleges, establish paid parental leave for men and women faculty, and expand the Creative School for Children at UCF to also care for babies and toddlers, among others. The honorees are:

  • Richard Tucker, professor emeritus of psychology and UCF liaison to the Learning Institute for Elders
  • Michael Hynes, School of Teaching, Learning and Leadership director
  • Benton Anderson, leave-administration manager at UCF Human Resources
  • Melvin Rogers, personnel and student affairs associate dean, public administration associate instructor
  • Richard Harrison, associate librarian at UCF Libraries
  • Stephen King, Burnett School of Biomedical Sciences associate professor
  • Rick Schell, vice president and chief of staff
  • Charles Reilly, College of Engineering & Computer Science associate dean and professor
  • Kris Singh, Parking Services director
  • John Fauth, biology associate professor
  • David Pavlonnis, Student Development and Enrollment Services, assistant vice president for budgets and personnel
  • Alvin Wang, Burnett Honors College dean and professor
  • The Center for Success of Women Faculty’s 20-member executive council nominates faculty and staff members at UCF for the recognition. Executive council members range from the College of Health & Public Affairs, Rosen College of Hospitality Management, Nursing, Engineering, Theatre, Women’s Studies and more.

    “Together we represent a lot of areas within UCF – many colleges, ranks and campuses. We trust each council member to nominate people who reflect well on all of us,” said Linda Walters, Pegasus professor of biology and director of the Center of Success of Women Faculty.

    This is the fifth year the center has honored faculty and staff for Women’s History Month.

    Plus, numerous events are scheduled to celebrate Women’s History Month. Events include guest speakers like Kayla Harrison, an Olympic gold medalist, the Vagina Monologues and an Equal Pay Day, among others. See here for more on Women’s History Month events at UCF.